We collected every email and every tweet from the 2020 Democratic primary. Here's what we found...

How to Share a Google Calendar (+Permissions Explained)

Alexa Drake
Alexa Drake  |  November 13, 2019

Sharing is caring.

If you’re someone who uses Google Calendar on a daily basis, it’s useful to know how you can share it with coworkers, colleagues, and even your family. Sharing calendars is one of the most convenient ways to let others know what you’re doing and where you’ll be, as well as keeping an eye on what they’re up to.

By sharing your calendar, you can take control of your time management because you won’t have to email back and forth to set a time for a meeting. Others will already have access to your calendar to see when you are available. You automatically make it easier for others as well as for yourself.

In this article, we’ll go over the steps you can take to share your Google Calendar with others. 

Get 30+ Google Suite resources, FREE.    Get my resources...

Sharing your Google calendar

On your desktop, open Google Calendar. You’ll see a section on the lefthand side called My calendars.

my calendars on Google calendar

If it’s hidden, click the arrow to expand the section. Hover your cursor over the calendar that you want to share. Three dots will appear. Click them and select Settings and sharing.

settings and sharing in Google calendar


If you want to share it among your teammates or company, navigate to Access permissions and check the boxes of how you’d like to share your calendar. Then, choose an option from each drop-down menu.

share your Google calendar publicly


On the contrary, to share your calendar with specific individuals, click Add people under Share with specific people.

share Google calendar with specific people


Then, type the name of the individual you would like to share your calendar with. As you type, emails of people at your company will auto-populate along with people from your Google Contacts.

Permissions on Google Calendar

When you share your calendar with others, pay special attention to the Permissions box. By default, the people you share with will be able to see your calendar event details but not edit them. The permissions options you have are as follows:

permissions in Google calendar


See only free/busy:
recipients will only be able to see when you have appointments but not what those appointments entail.
See all event details: recipients will be able to see everything on your calendar but won’t be able to make changes.
Make changes to events: recipients will be able to see everything on your calendar and will be able to make changes.
Make changes and manage sharing: recipients will be able to see everything on your calendar, make changes, and invite more people to see your calendar.

Once you’ve entered in the contacts you want to share with, click Send.

sending Google calendar to individual


Your calendar has been sent off! Remember that if you decide to share your calendar with a group of people, it doesn’t automatically get added to their Other calendars list. They’ll need to click on the link within the email you sent them to add your calendar to their list.

The only way you can let people who don’t have Google Calendar view your calendar is to make it public.

It’s as simple as that

Now you know how to share your calendar with anyone you want to. There are dozens of free calendar tools out there, but Google Calendar continues to be one of the most widely used. To find the calendar that works for you, browse the top calendar software and start building your schedule today.
See the Easiest-to-Use Calendar Software →

Alexa Drake
Author

Alexa Drake

Alexa is a Content Marketing Associate at G2. Born and raised in Chicago, she went to Columbia College Chicago and entered the world of all things event marketing and social media. In her free time, she likes taking her dog on walks, creating playlists for every mood, and finding the best vegetarian food in the city. (she/her/hers)