Sometimes you need to disengage from someone on social media.
Maybe that someone responds to your Instagram story with harsh, judgmental words that bother you days later. Maybe he or she posts politically charged comments on your pictures and you’re over it. Or maybe you have an ex that knows how to DM on Instagram and isn't afraid to send pleading, take-me-back messages (gross).
There’s a lot of reasons why you might want to block someone, and thankfully, it’s drama-free and easy.
Below I’ll go through the process step-by-step with photos (for the visual learners in the house). I’ll also discuss what happens when you block someone on Instagram and answer frequently asked questions.
TIP: If you need to block someone entirely from all of your social media channels, don't worry, we have you covered. Check out how to block someone on social media.
Most people use Instagram via the app on their phone, so let’s go over that method first. I’ll cover how to block someone on Instagram via a desktop afterward.
This works for iOS, Androids, and Windows platforms.
Go to their profile by typing in their name in the Search tab. This is the last time you’ll have to see it!
Look to the upper-right corner of your screen. You’ll see three horizontal dots, also known as the menu button. Tap on that.
Let’s say for some reason I am tired of seeing adorable puppy pictures clogging up my feed (this will never happen) and I want to block The Dogist’s account. Here is where the three horizontal dots can be found:
A pop-up window will appear, and from that menu, select 'Block.' It will be the first option and in red.
Then another message will appear, asking if you’re sure you want to block that person. Don’t worry, you can always unblock them later if you change your mind. Tap ‘Block’ once more.
On the confirmation message that appears, click ‘Dismiss.’
You can tell the block worked because now, the button saying “Following” next to the account name has been changed to “Unblock.”
Let’s say you don’t have access to the Instagram app and want to block someone on a web browser. It’s just as easy as the app process. Here’s how to do it via instagram.com.
Navigate to the user’s profile that you want to block. Again, I’ll use one of my favorite accounts, The Dogist, for my example.
You’ll see the three horizontal dots next to the account name, the “Following” button and the down arrow button. Click on them.
A pop-up window will appear. Click the middle option, “Block this user.”
Another window will pop-up asking if you’re sure you want to block them. Hit “Block” again if you are.
A confirmation pop-up will appear. Click “Dismiss” to return to Instagram.
You can tell the block worked because instead of “Following” next to their account name, it now says “Unblock.”
You might be wondering what, exactly, the ramifications might be for blocking someone. Well, beyond not seeing your wonderful profile and curated grid, there are a variety of other effects. Let’s go through some of the common questions about Instagram blocking.
That person can no longer see your profile, posts, or stories on Instagram. They will not get a notification that you blocked them. As I said above, this is a drama-free process (thankfully). Although I will say, if they creep on you often and suddenly can’t find your profile, they’ll probably get the hint.
No, it’s not! You can always change your mind and Unblock someone on Instagram at any time.
Yes, they can. However, you will never know because you won’t receive a notification in your Activity channel.
Yes, if he or she follows the account or if it is a public account, they will be able to see that you liked or commented on it.
No, their comments do not disappear from your posts. You can, however, delete those comments from your posts manually.
You can still find their account, but when you look at it, you won’t see any of their posts. It will simply say “No Posts Yet.” You will not be able to view their Instagram stories, either.
Instagram recently released the ability to “Mute” someone, which is less severe than blocking someone. If you mute someone, their stories and posts will not appear in your newsfeed. You can still see their posts and stories if you navigate to their page. And they can still see your content. Use mute if you want to see someone’s content on your own terms — and don’t care whether or not they see your content.
You can also learn how to make your Instagram private, but that only helps if you're trying to thwart future weirdos or end cyberbullying through the app. It does not help with current weirdos who already follow you.
You shouldn’t feel uncomfortable on your own social media account. Disengage from the creeps and bullies by blocking them. You’ll be glad you did!
Holly is a manager on the content marketing team. An avid reader and writer, Holly graduated from the University of Missouri with a dual major in Journalism and English. She firmly believes in the power of content and is constantly seeking ways to better engage and delight readers.
Subscribe to keep your fingers on the tech pulse.