Skip to content

How to Turn on LinkedIn Private Mode (+Browse in Secret!)

January 31, 2019

One of the things I love about LinkedIn is that it shows me who has viewed my profile.

However, one of the things I hate about LinkedIn is that I can’t browse someone’s profile without them knowing. At least, that’s what I thought. I had no idea that you could activate LinkedIn Private Mode, making it easy to view other people's profiles, and no one will know it’s me (unless I want them to).

It’s easy to change your settings to Private Mode, so whether you're checking out a LinkedIn business page or the profile of a past coworker, you can choose if you’d like them to know of your visit or not.

Using LinkedIn Private Mode

Out of all the social media platforms, I feel most productive when I’m on LinkedIn.

Whether I’m connecting with an old colleague or posting an article to share my thoughts and expertise, there’s a lot more to do than just apply for open jobs. With the debut of Private Mode, users like myself can also check out the profile of a connection without them knowing.

This feature is great for recruiters and other business professionals who are interesting in browsing profiles to find potential candidates, new clients, sales leads, and business partners. 

Steps to set up LinkedIn Private Mode

Setting up Private Mode can be done in just a few clicks. If you’d like to learn how, just keep reading.

Click Settings & Privacy

To activate LinkedIn Private Mode, click your profile picture icon at the top and navigate to Settings & Privacy.

select LinkedIn Settings and PrivacySource: LinkedIn

How others see your LinkedIn activity

Scroll to about the middle of the page and find the heading How others see your LinkedIn activity. Then, click Change next to the first header, which is Profile viewing options.

changing LinkedIn privacy settingsSource: LinkedIn

Select your browsing mode

From this drop-down you’ll see the options you have for your browsing mode.

Choose LinkedIn profile viewing options in settings menuSource: LinkedIn

When you choose private mode, you’ll appear as “Anonymous LinkedIn Member”. With this option, no other information will be shared with the LinkedIn user whose profile you’re viewing.

There's also the option to select private profile characteristics. If you do, your job title, company, school, and industry will be shown. In my case, it would show “Marketing Specialist at G2 Crowd” when I view someone's profile.

It’s like you were never even there

The next time you want to check out someone's profile without them knowing, take these simple steps to turn on LinkedIn Private Mode. Whether you’re doing it for professional reasons or just seeing what someone is up to, it’s bound to come in handy.

Interested in learning more about what you can do on LinkedIn? Check out our ultimate beginner's guide to using LinkedIn effectively to make the most out of your profile.

Never miss a post.

Subscribe to keep your fingers on the tech pulse.

By submitting this form, you are agreeing to receive marketing communications from G2.