How to Delete Twitter: A Step-by-Step Guide

Grace Pinegar Grace Pinegar  |  August 31, 2018

Ah, so the time has come. You are ready to delete your Twitter account, like so many before you.

Maybe you’re out of college, applying for jobs, and you want to rid the internet of any memories or evidence you wouldn’t want to discuss in an interview.

Maybe your Aunt Joan just signed up for an account and robbed you of any joy to be found in this social media platform.

Perhaps you never truly understood how to work this endless timeline, and your presence is just an empty page and a list of bot followers.

Whatever your reason, deleting your Twitter account is a simple process consisting of only a few short steps. Social media platforms never want to see their users go, which is why this process may not appear obvious as you’re perusing account settings.

How to Delete Your Twitter Account

In this article, we’ll discuss everything that goes into deleting a Twitter account so you can start fresh, or steer clear of the app forever.

1. Go to Twitter's website

Twitter doesn’t let you delete your account from inside the mobile application, so it can’t be done from the Twitter app on your tablet or phone. Keep in mind that this extra step is for your safety. Application developers go to great lengths to ensure only the proper administrator can manage account settings and information.

That being said, the first step to deleting your account is opening www.twitter.com within a web browser. The web browser can either be on your desktop or within your mobile device such as an iPhone or iPad’s Safari browsers.

If your login information is not saved to the device, this process will require logging in first.

Like so many of us, it’s possible you have no idea what your Twitter password is. So many users shuffle through various versions of the same password that it’s difficult to remember which one had the number in it, and which began with a capital letter. If that’s the case for you, you can go through a password reset that requires you to enter your email, username or phone number.

2. Toggle to your Twitter account's settings

Once logged on to Twitter within the browser, navigate to your profile picture on the top right corner of the screen. Click your photo. This should pull up a menu that is host to many Twitter actions such as viewing your profile, checking out your analytics, and logging out.

twitter-settings

 

Below analytics, click the bar that says “Settings and Privacy.”

The first page that comes up is labeled as “Account.” This is the page from which you will deactivate your account.

Scroll to the very bottom where, in dull letters, it reads “deactivate your account.”

twitter-account-settings

3. Deactivate your Twitter account

Click on the option to deactivate your account. Before confirming, ensure you won’t want to reuse that email address or username another time. If you think you will want to use them again, change them in your settings before deactivating your account.

Read the information Twitter provides and confirm this is what you would like to do. You will also be prompted to enter your password to verify your identity. While this elongates the process, again, it is about safety and security.

While this choice may sound temporary, rest assured deactivation will eventually be permanent. After deactivating your account, you have 30 days to change your mind. During this time, you can simply log back into Twitter with your username and password and continue on like normal. This will cancel your deactivation and require you to start over with the 30 days should you wish to deactivate again.

deactive-twitter

 

After you deactivate, it’s possible people will still be able to find your account and see things you’ve tweeted. Although you’ve deactivated, your profile and content may take some time to exit the internet, so to speak. If there is something specific you need off your profile immediately, your quickest option is to delete it from your timeline.

Once the 30 days have passed, there is no opportunity to rejoin the Twitter-sphere with this same account. You can create a new account (and use the same email and username, provided you changed them prior to deactivating), but all of your old tweets, followers, images, and lists will be gone.

You've permanently deleted your Twitter account!

If this is what you were going for, great! You are now safe from being found by your Aunt Joan, or co-workers who don’t understand the irony in your Twitter humor. If deleting your Twitter left you feeling relieved, consider ridding yourself of other social media accounts.

Go forth and be free. But remember, you can always re-sign up and start over. It’s always a good day to begin again.

Maybe you've been on Twitter for years and know all the tips and tricks. Share your insights and write a review today. 

Is Twitter part of your marketing strategy? Write a Review →

If you are purging all your social media accounts, learn more about how to delete all social media.

Author

Grace Pinegar

Grace Pinegar is a lifelong storyteller with an extensive background in various forms such as acting, journalism, improv, research, and now content marketing. She was raised in Texas, educated in Missouri, and has come to tolerate, if not enjoy, the opposition of Chicago's seasons. (she/her/hers)

Never miss a post.

Subscribe to keep your fingers on the tech pulse.

By submitting this form, you are agreeing to receive marketing communications from G2.