Skip to content

How to Block Someone on Facebook (on Mobile and Desktop!)

November 19, 2018

There are myriad reasons why you might be seeking to block someone on Facebook.

As we all know far too well, the Internet is unfortunately full of creeps, cyberbullies, and weirdos. Sometimes this manifests itself benignly, and sometimes it means that someone is bothering you online and you need to put a stop to it.

For this reason, you'll be glad to know that you're only a few steps away from learning how to block someone on Facebook. This can be done on a personal page or a Facebook business page.

How do I block someone on Facebook?

Blocking someone on Facebook has truly never been easier. What a joy!

Steps to block someone on Facebook on mobile

 1. Open your mobile app and log in, then tap the three horizontal lines on the bottom right corner of the page to bring up page options.

how to block someone on facebook mobile 1

2. Click "Settings & Privacy"

how to block someone on facebook mobile 2

3. Tap "Settings"

how to block someone on facebook mobile 3

4. Scroll down to the Privacy section, then tap "Blocking"

how to block someone on facebook mobile 4
5. Click the plus sign to type in a Facebook friend's name to block them

how to block someone on facebook mobile 5

Steps to block someone on Facebook on desktop

1.  On the top right corner of your screen, click the question mark to open a drop-down menu of account options.

how to block someone on facebook desktop 1

2. Tap "Privacy Shortcuts"

how to block someone on facebook desktop 2

3. On the left side of the screen, under the "Privacy" header, tap "Blocking"

how to block someone on facebook desktop 3

4. Select the blocking option of your choice, type in a name and boom - they've been blocked.

how to block someone on facebook desktop 4

As you can see from the image above, there's several different things you can block on Facebook. In addition to blocking a person, you can also block messages, app invites, event invites and apps themselves. As you can see from the Facebook image, I went pretty hard on the block apps button - but does anyone really enjoy Farmville invites?

What is a Facebook block?

A Facebook block is, simply put, like closing a door on someone's online presence. If you block someone on Facebook, you will no longer see their posts, updates or comments, and they will no longer be able to search for you or access your information on Facebook in any way.

Is a Facebook block permanent?

No, a Facebook block is not permanent - it may be reversed at any time, but only by the person who facilitates the initial blocking. Essentially, it's up to you to decide if - or when - you'll remove a Facebook block.

If I block someone on Facebook, will they know?

The person, or persons, you block on Facebook will not be notified if you block them. You'll simply cease to exist on Facebook to them, and will be unsearchable.

What are my other options besides blocking someone on Facebook?

If you don't want to block someone on Facebook but still want to see less from them (let's be honest, we all have a mouthy uncle or two that we could do without being connected to online), you have the option to hide someone or report them.

For example, if you're just annoyed by someone's online presence (again, who among us isn't guilty of this), you may want to simply hide them. But, if someone is sending you abusive or inappropriate content, you may want to report them in addition to blocking them.

Additionally, learn how to block someone on social media from your other platform. Also, learn how to delete a Facebook group.

Read More: How to Block Someone on Social Media →

Never miss a post.

Subscribe to keep your fingers on the tech pulse.

By submitting this form, you are agreeing to receive marketing communications from G2.