How to Quickly Delete a Gmail Account

Mara Calvello
Mara Calvello  |  September 18, 2019

 

There are a lot of things I wish I could delete but simply aren’t able to: my junior high yearbook photos, my old MySpace page, or the memories I have of being picked last in gym class.

One thing not on that list: my Gmail account, as deleting this is easy and can be done in just a few steps.

If you’re unsure of how to delete your Gmail account, read on for a step-by-step guide!

Deleting a Gmail account

There’s a lot you can do in Gmail, from blocking someone to changing your password. But sometimes all you want to do is say goodbye to your account altogether.

When it’s time to delete your Gmail account, it only takes a few steps.

For more details on deleting your Gmail account, plus informative screenshots, keep reading!

1. Click your account icon and choose Google Account

Once you’re logged into the Google Account of the Gmail you’d like to delete, click your account icon in the upper-right corner. Then, choose Google Account.

Google Account Settings

 

2. Click Data & personalization

From the next page, click Data & personalization from the options on the left.

Click Data and Personalization

3. Click Delete a service or account

From the next page, scroll down to the header Download, delete, or make a plan for your data and choose Delete a service or your account.

Click Delete a Service or Account

4. Click Delete a service

Next, click Delete a service.

Click Delete a Service

 

Tip: Clicking Delete your Google Account will result in you losing more than just your Gmail account, like your photos and data, so make sure you only delete a service.

5. Verify your account

Google is then going to ask you to verify your account by entering your password. Once you do, click Next.

Verify Gmail Account

6. Click the trash can icon

Next to the Gmail account you’re looking to delete, click the trash can icon.

Click Trash Can Icon to Delete Gmail Account

7. Enter an additional email address and click Send Verification

Then, enter the email address that you’ll use to access your Google Account, like your data and Photos, and click Send Verification Email.

Send Verification Email to Delete Gmail

 

Tip: Make sure the email address you enter is one you’ll have access to! You’ll need it for step eight.

8. Open the email from Google and follow the deletion link

Log into the account of the email address you entered in step seven and click on the email sent from Google. Then, follow the deletion link in the email.

Delete Gmail Link

9. Click the confirm checkbox and choose Delete Gmail

Once you’re done reading the information provided by Google and you’re ready to delete your Gmail account, click the confirmation box that you want to delete the Gmail account. Then, click Delete Gmail.

Confirmation of Deleted Gmail Account

10. Click Done

Google will then let you know that your Gmail account was successfully deleted. Click Done.

Confirmation of Deleted Gmail Account

Delete it and forget it

No matter what your reason for deleting your Gmail account is, you’re sure to feel better once it’s completely gone from the traces of the world wide web. It’s almost like it never existed! You probably need some way to communicate with the outside world, though. Check out some other free email account platforms that you can choose from. 

On a deleting spree? Learn how to delete all of your social media accounts.

Learn more: How to Delete All Social Media →

Mara Calvello
Author

Mara Calvello

Mara is a Senior Content Marketing Specialist at G2. In her spare time, she's typically at the gym polishing off a run, reading a book from her overcrowded bookshelf, or right in the middle of a Netflix binge. Obsessions include the Chicago Cubs, Harry Potter, and all of the Italian food imaginable.